Switzerland has placed Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur and Monaco on its red list, with a 10-day quarantine in place for travellers.

However, the French region and the Principality are not alone. Germany’s Thuringia, Salzburg and the Italian regions of Emilia-Romagna and Friuli-Venezia Giulia have also been added to the list published by Switzerland’s Ministry of Health.

Several whole countries have also been added: Spain, Estonia, Israel, Latvia, Slovakia, Lebanon, Malta, and Portugal.

Those who fail to comply with the restrictions, which includes a requirement to register with the authorities of the canton where they reside or face a fine of up to 10,000 Swiss francs.

A negative coronavirus test can not be substituted for the quarantine requirement.

However, there are useful loopholes. Those on an ‘important’ business trip that can not be postponed will be excused from the self-isolation requirement. Quite what the burden of proof to satisfy the conditions would be remains a mystery.

Monaco’s coronavirus infection rate is significantly lower than in the Alpes-Maritimes.