The Republic of Nauru has become the 159th state with which the Principality of Monaco has established diplomatic relations, following the signing of joint communiqués by the Permanent Representatives to the United Nations in New York, Her Excellency Mrs Margo Deiye and HE Mrs Isabelle Picco.

The Republic of Nauru, the smallest republic in the world, is an island state in Oceania, and has been a member of the United Nations since 1999. Close to the equator, it is among the countries particularly affected by the impacts of climate change, notably heatwaves and rising sea levels.

The Permanent Representatives discussed several topics of common interest, including in particular the conservation and sustainable exploitation of the oceans and the sharing of benefits for developing countries under the High Seas Agreement.

ORIGINAL SOURCE & PHOTO: Monaco Government Press Service