The Presidents of the Parliaments of Small European States, meeting in Monaco on June 13, agreed that they share common interests on many questions.

The Presidents or representatives of the Parliaments of the Principality of Andorra, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Iceland, the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg, the Republic of Malta, the Principality of Monaco, Montenegro and the Republic of San Marino, at the invitation of the President of the National Council, Stéphane Valeri, reaffirmed the importance of inter-parliamentary cooperation between Small European States to foster dialogue and mutual understanding.

It was agreed that there is a convergence of views on the need to take stock of lessons to be learned from the coronavirus pandemic. Also on the agenda was the need for gender equality in leadership roles.

It can be noted that five of the eight leaders visiting Monaco were women.

It was agreed that the Small European States do what they can to seek a peaceful solution to the war in Ukraine to lead towards a peaceful solution after the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

The heads of the Small European States will meet next year in the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg.

PHOTO: Stéphane Valeri, centre, with the parliamentary heads of other small European states