This year’s second Gregor Grant Award at the 2019 Autosport Awards was presented to the Monaco Grand Prix, reports.

Widely regarded as Formula 1’s most prestigious event, the Monaco Grand Prix was first run in 1929. Monaco has hosted 66 grands prix since 1950 – and every year without exception since 1955 – and forms part of the ‘Triple Crown’ of motorsport alongside the Le Mans 24 Hours and the Indianapolis 500.

Ayrton Senna holds the record for the most victories at Monaco with six, ahead of Graham Hill ­– who won the race five times in the 1960s. The Award was presented to HSH Prince Albert by three-time Monaco GP winner Sir Jackie Stewart.

“Monaco is the one to win,” said Stewart. “If you haven’t won at Monaco, there’s something wrong with your CV! It’s the most glamorous, the most exciting [race].”

Collecting the Award, Prince Albert said: “It’s a great privilege. I knew what Jackie thought of this [race], but it’s so great to hear how much it means not only to Formula 1 but the whole of motorsport.

“The history and everything that makes this grand prix so special, we’re so proud to be able to contribute [to Monaco’s history].”

Monaco GP winner David Coulthard was also present at the awards ceremony and spoke about the ‘magic’ of Monaco. “I’ve been living there for 23 years and racing for 18, but there’s adrenaline we’re all addicted to in motorsport and there’s nothing more thrilling than going to Casino Square at full speed in a Formula 1 car.”