The 14th Historic Grand Prix saw race cars of yesteryear battle it out on the circuit of Monaco, with plenty of commendable overtakes and performances. However, for each category there could only be one winner, and here they are.

The first victory of this Historic GP, on the morning of Sunday, May 12 in the A2 Series, was won by Claudia Hürtgen at the wheel of the 1960 Ferrari 246 Dino, in a race reserved for front-engined Grand Prix cars, built before 1961.

The second race this Sunday, in the A1 “Louis Chiron” Series, pitted Grand Prix cars and pre-war carts against each other . Starting in pole position after dominating Friday’s free practice, Irishman Paddins Dowling did everything necessary to achieve his dream and be first under the checkered flag.

Series B was won for the fifth time by Andy Middlehurst at the wheel of a Lotus 25 from 1962. Middlehurst, who started in pole position, had to resist ‘Joe’ Colasacco to take the win.

Surprised at the start, Max Smith-Hilliard completed a superb comeback at the wheel of his Lotus MK X to win the Series C category, using daring driving and some aggressive maneuvers to climb to the top of the podium.

The “Jackie Stewart” Series D race was reserved for F1 cars from the 1966 to 1972 seasons , equipped with 3-liter naturally aspirated engines. Michael Lyons, who started in pole position, seemed to be able to continue the thread of his numerous victories in the Principality, at the wheel of a pretty Surtees TS9 from 1971, but a mechanical problem at the Rascasse forced the Englishman to return to the pits, while he was leading by a wide margin. As an immediate consequence of his retirement, first place was immediately taken by the Japanese Katsuaki Kubota at the wheel of a Lotus 72.

Englishman Stuart Hall overcame two very well equipped compatriots, like him, in the names of Nicholas Padmore and Lyons to cross the line first in his 1973 McLaren M23 and take gold in the Series E race.

Lyons went on to win an eventful Series F race that was punctuated by three red flags as a result of too many on-track incidents. Having already claimed pole-position, the Englishman just had to make the most of all three race starts to cross the chequered line first at the end of the penultimate race of the day.

The final race of this wonderful weekend was won by Stuart Hall, who piloted a March 821 to its first ever victory in Monaco, beating out formidable competitors in frighteningly fast machines. “I have to thank the marshals, because they did a fantastic job throughout the weekend,” emphasised the hero of the day, who also competed in endurance racing in the American Le Mans Series ALMS, and at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2007.

Featured image courtesy of the Automobile Club de Monaco: Stuart Hall